Effective January 2020 Washington State car seat laws are changing. You may be asking what this means for you. Washington laws will be more in line with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics and will require the following:
- Rear facing until 2 years old
- Harness use until 4 years old
- Booster use until 4’9” or seat belt fits properly, now referring to ages 8 to 12 years old.
The law strongly encourages each stage of restraining as long as allows (if your car seat weight and height limits allow you to keep your child longer rear facing or in a harness that is strongly recommended.)
As always, keep your children in the backseat until the age of 13.
Longview Fire Department has a Certified Car Passenger Safety Technician on staff and can help you with all your child passenger safety questions. Sarah can be reached at 360-442-5501. For more information, check out Safe Kids Lower Columbia on Facebook for the next car seat clinic where you can have your car seat install checked for free!